Living in Korea Pros and Cons

So we have been here for a month now and I feel pretty comfortable about my surroundings and the fact that this is my home for the next year.

Mostly, I am really enjoying being in Korea. I have always loved new places and new things, so I embraced this move like all my other moved enthusiastically. But it isn’t just the newness that is making me love this place. Newness wears off. Korea is a truly unique place that is a mix of new and old. And not just new, but futuristic. I am talking ultra-modern-inventions-and-talking-appliances new. And not just old, but ..really old…13th century old. I am amazed, puzzled, excited, intrigued at every turn. Even just a stroll down one block in my town is different every single time.

So with all this in mind, me loving Korea much more than I ever thought I would, I have created a pros and cons list.

PROS

Past, Present and Future: I don’t know if the same can be said for other Asian countries, but Korea has an amazing blend of history and future. In Seoul you can see artifacts from 60 B.C. , monuments from 14 century, and then you go an apartment complex where the elevator “detects you” and comes down without you pushing a button!

Centuries old artifacts

Centuries old artifacts- tomb

Keyless entry- We don't own housekeys anymore

Keyless entry- We don’t own house keys anymore

 

Nature: When I thought of Korea, I thought city-Seoul. But oh no…this is a BEAUTIFUL country. There are mountains, and waterfalls, and rocky beaches, and white sandy beaches, and rivers, and parks. Oh my goodness. I found this out a funny way actually. The base cinema plays the national anthem before movies (weird) and while doing so, they play a soundless movie showing images of Korea’s natural beauty. I took it all in making a mental note of all the places I want to visit. thought I was going to be in a urban jungle this entire year, but once the weather cools down, we will be hiking and biking a whole lot.

Jeju Island

Jeju Island

Transportation: I already did a post on this, so I won’t go into detail, but wow! You do not need a car here. A car is just an accessory. You can get anywhere very cheaply. Subway, train, bus, taxi, take your pick!  As a visitor to many tourist spots, I was concerned we would have to take a cab to spots that are not on the subway line, but noooo Korea has that covered too. Popular tourist spots like Seoul Tower (on a hill), or amusements parks, have shuttle buses directly from the subway stations.  The cost – less than $1! I love this place!

Trains every 15 minutes

Trains every 15 minutes

Safety: I have never ever ever  in my life lived or visited anywhere where I have felt so safe. I don’t know if it is because there is CCTV everywhere, or it is the culture ( committing a crime brings a great dishonor to the family), but crime statistics are incredibly low for such a populous place. On the subway, people’s phones are in back pockets, there are open purses, girls in tiny outfits don’t get hollered at…it’s just so lax. I am still not completely used to this. I grip my purse like it holds my heart inside! I have read somewhere that it is the foreigners who bring the crime. The districts like Itaewon which have the most foreigners are where most of these petty crimes occur.

20140715_091441

The only city one can walk in deserted alleys and be perfectly safe

Cheap Living: “Cheap” is a relative term so I will say “cheap” in comparison to California. Before coming, Ray and I prepared for the worst. Seoul is always on the list of one of the most expensive places to live in the world. We thought the cost of living would be sky high. Well, it is some parts, but I have to say, you can very easily live within your means. WE save so much just without a car and insurance. Also, food is pretty cheap. Between the base commissary and the local markets, our expenditures are so much less than California. Prices of eating are low too…$1 bus fare, $1 ice creams and snacks make life so enjoyable! Our quality of life has increased two fold!

Four seasons: I am so exited I get to experience four distinctive seasons! Four distinctive wardrobes! Yepee! What I really cannot wait to see is an autumn and a spring. Alaska had a very short autumn so one could only briefly enjoy the yellow and orange leaves.  Here, fall is longer so hiking then will be great. Also, I cannot wait to see cherry blossoms like those in post cards.

One of many the palaces in spring

One of many the palaces in spring

Free Stuff: You go into a store to purchase one thing, and they give you a bunch of stuff for free. This has only happened to me at restaurants and cosmetics stores. At cosmetics stores, I don’t mean sample size items. Yesterday, I bought an eyeliner for $6, and the clerk gave me a cosmetics bag, a mirror, 3 face masks, and another liner. Combined it was easily worth $10. Weird, but I won’t question it!

Mind their own business: This can be seen as a pro or con, but for me it’s a pro. Every one here minds their own business. While it can be seen as unfriendliness, I think it’s their way of being respectful and not bothering you. People (older usually) do stare, don’t get me wrong, but no one is hollering, and calling you or  generally harassing you as I have experienced in other countries. In my experience, here people will engage only if you engage. If you don’t, they leave you alone. Even though they come quite close because off a having a smaller personal space here, they still son’t engage. While sometimes I do just want a chat, and wish Koreans were more chatty, I think I will list obliviousness as a pro because I can sit read a book, people-watch and just enjoy some pleasant peace which is hard in other countries. If you are a foreigner in Zambia, I have no doubt you will be approached by someone wanting to chat every 5 minutes!

Cell phone addiction lives is especially strong here in the birthplace of the Samsung and LG

Cell phone addiction lives is especially strong here in the birthplace of the Samsung and LG

People do started at me, and mostly when I wear my hair as an afro. There aren’t many blacks here. But I don’t get bothered in a malicious way ever. If anything I get ” hello” and a big smile and wave, “you are pretty” , “black good” with a thumbs up , or ” beautiful skin’ comments.

 

CONS

Language: Well this isn’t really a con because it is Korea , so obviously everything is in the native language. I just list it as a con because sometimes I really want to do something quickly and having to Google translate it is a pain. For example…5 minutes ago I was trying to turn the temperature down on the fridge because the eggs were frozen. Before I could turn the knob, I had to Google the writing on the knob because it wasn’t clear what direction warmer was. The same goes or the A/C, the washer/dryer, bus schedule,  and when I am around town and just need to know really quickly a direction, a price, or if something is open or closed.

AC remote????

AC remote. This thing hates me!

Homogeneous: Korea is NOT diverse. AT ALL. Most people are Korean. Obviously. Here in Pyeongtaek, because it is near the air force base, there are some foreigners, but for the most part there are only Koreans around. Even in Africa there are large populations of Indians, Caucasians, and Chinese, and all kinds of combinations of those races. In Korea however, not so much. While I haven’t received any acts of racism at all, it is more just strange to see so many of the same people everywhere you look.

Another thing that makes it seem so homogeneous is the “cookie cutterness”. Everyone dresses the same! And I don’t mean identical clothes like a uniform because the clothing for the younger generation particularly is very colorful, but they are all the same style. I was chatting to Ray about this the other day that it isn’t like a US teen high school movie where you have  a hippie group, a goth group, a trendy, a geeky group etc. Nope. Not here. Here everyone has the same fashion style. Little kids are in school uniform, teens were kpop “school girl” fashion (short skirts/shorts,loose tops, printed loose tees, clunky shoes for girls (yeah I’m not liking the shoes here). The the older ladies “ajummas” wear printed collared blouses, and the older men wear collared or polo shirts and pants. That is pretty much it.

Girls love their printed tees with English words

Girls love their printed tees with English words

No trash cans: Okay I don’t know why this is, but it is annoying not to have trash cans everywhere. It’s not as bad in Seoul, but in Songtan, if you buy a drink, be prepared to hold onto it for a while because you won’t have anywhere to throw it. There isn’t trash strewn all over the streets, so I don;t know where everyone throws their trash. Seoul city center is very clean and ultra modern, but Pyeongtaek, particularly the markets, could be  a bit cleaner. It is just a more rural area. Though the term rural in Korea is very different. I don’t know many “rural areas, that have many skyscappers and 8 story malls!

Not filthy, but could use a good scrubbing

Not filthy, but could use a good scrubbing in some corners

Panoramic view of Pyeongtaek from the mall

Panoramic view of Pyeongtaek from the mall’s 10th  floor rooftop plaza. There is a pool up there too! Crazy!

DSCF3411

 

That’s about it after a month here. Every place does have it’s pluses and minuses, but I have to say, I really like this place and can see why many families extend their stay here.

Leave a Comment